Netflix has added a new private recommendations system, which allows you to suggest titles to friends.
Netflix has always kept itself closely linked to Facebook, with the option of posting what you stream to the social network, but the new feature means that you can share titles without having to over-share: you can recommend something you like to a Facebook friend directly within Netflix, without everyone knowing you’ve just watched The Proposal for the 15th time.
After a title has finished playing, a window pops up allowing you to pick a familiar face from a list of Facebook friends – a feature that has been on the website in a similar form for some time, but Netflix has improved it.
After selecting friends, you are now allowed to add an optional message to your recommendation. Your friends will then see the notification the next time they log into Netflix and can thank you for the recommendation – and if they watch it or add it to their list, Netflix will let you know. For those who have not hooked up Netflix to Facebook, they will receive the recommendation as a private Facebook message.
Netflix is now rolling out the new recommendations system to apps on the iPad, iPhone, PS3 and Xbox, as well as many set-top boxes and smart TVs. More platforms will be added in coming months.
Images on VODzilla.co are authorised and subject to restrictions. Permission is required for any further use beyond viewing on this site. Remote control icon created by Bjoin Andersson from Noun Project.
VODzilla.co is partly funded through affiliate marketing, which means that clicking some links on this page may generate income for the site. However, this is an independent publication: we take care not to let commercial relationships dictate the editorial stance of content or the writing staff.
We are using cookies to give you the best experience on our website.
You can find out more about which cookies we are using or switch them off in settings.
You can adjust all of your cookie settings by navigating the tabs on the left hand side.
Strictly Necessary Cookies
Strictly Necessary Cookie should be enabled at all times so that we can save your preferences for cookie settings.
If you disable this cookie, we will not be able to save your preferences. This means that every time you visit this website you will need to enable or disable cookies again.
3rd Party Cookies
This website uses Google Analytics to collect anonymous information such as the number of visitors to the site, and the most popular pages.
Keeping this cookie enabled helps us to improve our website.
Please enable Strictly Necessary Cookies first so that we can save your preferences!